A Mom First

In All Things, A Mom First

Laughter Just When Its Need Courtesy of Julian – Hope You Smile Too!

I woke up to the TV this morning with more news about the Norway tragedy – turned off the television. I decided to take advantage of Julian still sleeping and allow myself to doze back off – hoping not to dream about the sadness. My heart goes out to these parents and I can’t think of any thing more heinous than to target children. I said a prayer for the families and friends affected by this terrible act of murder.

Fortunately, I did not have nightmares and Round Two of waking up this morning was much better.

First some background:

I didn’t set an alarm before I dozed back off this morning as I thought I would wake up whenever Julian wakes me. Julian – sweet child – usually sleeps in until between 8am to 9am if you allow him to (I know…sorry parents of crack-of-dawn children). Even better, if you sleep in and Julian wakes up first, he will often play for quite a while in his crib before he even tries to wake you. I know he wakes up and plays because Julian’s crib is in the far side of our very large bedroom. Incidentally, he can climb out of his crib since he did do it once but he has never attempted it again – much like walking which he did once at 14-1/2 months on his dad’s birthday and then decided it was too much work and went back to crawling for almost two-months more.

My sister came to live with us recently occupying the room that will be Julian’s eventually. We are happy to have her, but have not figured out just yet how to rearrange bedroom situations with a large family. So since Julian is two and still in his crib its okay at the moment for him to occupy our room and for now we love to savor the morning sounds of our still baby-like little man on the weekends when we get to sleep in.

Julian Reef Kinnard - Future Scuba Diver - Current Source of Daily Laughter

Anyway, here’s the punchline:

After some time of playing in his crib, I assume since I was totally zonked, Julian decided it was time for me to wake up. I woke up to the shrill sounds of my 2-year-old’s best attempt at mimicking our alarm clock going off: “BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP!” I was absolutely in stitches! I opened my eyes and he caught my glance through the crib bars (because he was not going to sit up before he had to). But once he saw me he popped up and said, “Hear alarm momma?” Oh my goodness, I was crying I was laughing so hard. Then he said, “Want coffee momma?” He’s two – that deserves a banana! Another day I will give you my thoughts on children sleeping versus not sleeping with parents, but since he has patiently allowed me to type this post so far still entertaining himself in his crib even knowing I am awake, I am up now to get coffee and bananas for our breakfast in bed. Good morning friends and happy week!

July 24, 2011 Posted by | Social Media Mom | Leave a comment